Armenian Genocide

It’s crazy to me that the Armenian genocide is still not officially recognized in Turkey. On my commute to work in New Jersey, a billboard recently appeared advertising Remember1915.org, which is apparently a “portal for information and resources” about the Armenian genocide. It was somewhat shocking for me to see this huge billboard the first time on my daily drive. I teach kids about the Holocaust and other atrocities, and I know that multiple horrors are ongoing (e.g. Isis, Syria, North Korea), but to see something like that inserted into one of the most banal and quotidian parts of my day – sitting in metropolitan traffic – was jarring. Perhaps that’s the intention.

In any case, it seems that some momentum is building to push Turkey out of denial: “Austria Recognized Armenian Genocide.”

Leave a Reply

